Senate: APC Secures 64 Seats, PDP 40, YPP 1

The results of the last Saturday’s National Assembly elections held across the country show that the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has so far won 64 senatorial seats, while the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) secured 40 seats. Young Progressives Party (YPP) got one seat.

The above figures sum up to 105 seats out of 109 seats available in the apex legislative chamber. Results of two senatorial districts are being awaited to be declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Plateau State, one in Taraba State and one in Imo State.

The APC won most of its seats in the North-West geopolitical zone, where it secured 20 out of the 21 senatorial seats available. The zone was followed by the South-West, where it had 14 out of the 18 seats available.

The party also won 14 senatorial seats in the North-East, 12 in the North Central, three in the South-South and two in the South-East.

On the other hand, the opposition PDP got its highest senatorial positions in the South-South, where it won 15 out of the 18 senatorial slots in the zone, while also securing 11 out of 15 slots for the South-East zone. It also secured four seats in the North-East and three seats in the South-West. YPP won its only seat in Anambra State.

959 thoughts on “Senate: APC Secures 64 Seats, PDP 40, YPP 1